The Bude Coast and Country Benefice

The Five Churchesof the Bude Coast and Cuntry Benefice originally formed  the Central Cluster of a Conventional Disrict formerly known as the Deanery of Stratton. The Conventional District was formed in order to instigate the proposed organisational changes required tby the 2019 Deanery Plan o form a pastorally and financially viable Deanery of three Benefices with 3.5 clergy.

.Each parish retains its own PCC and complement of churchwardens. Each PCC is responsible for the choice of type of worship and mission, as well as the maintenance and repair of their own churches. Across the Benefice there are Worship Team Leaders, commissioned by the Bishop of Truro, preparing as well as leading Services of the Word.

The majority of the Cluster is a rural area with a scattered population, but now includes the town of Bude with the church of St Michael's Bude Haven. The task of the new Cluster iis to learn to work together  and to develop a genuine co-operation between the parishes which honours the different identities and traditions of each and which includes participation in services in each other’s churches and supporting each other’s social and fundraising events. We had made a good start at working together with the formation of a Cluster Council during 2019 and were ready to develop our plans just as everything changed in early 2020 with the Covid-19 pandemic.

In 2020 we have been celebrating together under the Covid restrictions c and this has developed and cemented our commitment to each other and the new Benefice. In 2021 we move forward with a full Pastoral Measure to formally become a new Benefice as planned.

The Diocese is moving forward with the "On the Way" initiative and the Bude Coast and Country Benefice, together with the North Kernow Benefice and the Boscastle Group of Churches look forward to being part of this, always mindful that our 2019 Deanery Plan needs to be constantly re-examined to keep up with the changing requirements of a post Covid world.